I improvised a monkey hat from a pattern I found on Ravelry.com for my granddaughter Atti.

The original monkey hat can be found here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/monkey-hat-sizes-newborn-to-adult

I highly recommend this hat as a base for the monkey face, as it’s easy to follow and works up quick.   The pattern for it is also available in many different sizes.

Here are my directions:

Monkey Face

Color A: Dark Brown/Variegated        Color B:  Tan/Flesh        Color C:  Dark Brown

For the ears: Using color B
round 1. Magic circle 5 sc (5 sts)
round 2. 2 sc in each st around, join, ch 1 (10 sts)
round 3. sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, around. join and finish off. (15 sts)
Using color A 
round 1. Magic circle 5 sc (5 sts)
round 2. 2 sc in each st around, join, ch 1 (10 sts)
round 3. sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, around. join and finish off. (15 sts)
round 4. sc in next 2 sts, 2 sc in next st around, join, ch 1 (20 sts)
round 5. sc in the next 16 sts, tie off leaving a long tail for attaching the ear to the hat. Weave in remaining ends. Stitch pieces together.

For the pupils: Using color C
round 1. Magic circle 5 sc, join, ch 1 (5 sts)

For the eyes: Using color B
round 1. Magic circle 5 sc (5 sts)
round 2. sc 2 in each st, around (10 sts)
round 3. sc in next st, sc 2 in next st, around (15 sts)
round 4. sc in next 2 sts, 2 sc in next st, around (20 sts)

Attach pupils to eyes in any fashion you like. Once the individual eyes were made, I lined them up and put them together with the back sides facing out. I joined with a slip stitch in the middle stitch that would lay between the eyes and then did the following:

sl st through next sts, sc inthrough next sts, hdc through next 2 sts, dc through next sts, trb cr through next sts, fasten off leaving a very long tail for sewing to the hat. Your eyes should now be fastened together and have taken on an oval shape.

For the mouth: Using color B 
round 1. chain 11

round 2. sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in each st across (10 sts) 2 more sc in end space.

round 3. sc in each ch across (10 sts) 2 sc in end space.

round 4. sc in each sc across to end 2 sc. 2 sc in next 2 sts, sc across to end 2 sc. 2 sc in next 2 sts.

round 5. sc in each sc around entire piece.

round 6. sc in each sc across one side and around curved end, sl st in final st and fasten off

I centered the eyes and stitched them in place. Centered the mouth and stitched it in place, leaving a small gap. Lightly stuffed the mouth and
finished stitching.

I used a chain of 6 and stitched it in a v-shape for the nose. Hand stitched the mouth.

Followed finishing instructions for border/ties.

She’s planning on being a monkey for Halloween.

After thinking that I was all finished, I realize that a monkey needs a tail!  I couldn’t find a tail pattern, so I made my own.  Here are the instructions:

I crocheted in the round without joining for the entire piece, and used markers to mark my progress through out. You may want to stuff this as you go.

round 1. Magic circle 3 sc (3 sts)
round 2. sc in first sc, 2 sc in next sc, 1 sc in next sc(4 sts)
round 3. (sc in next sc, 2 sc in next sc)twice. (6 sts)
round 4. sc in each sc around (6 sts)
round 5. sc in each sc around (6 sts)
round 6. (sc in next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc)twice (8 sts)
round 7. sc in each sc around (8 sts)
round 8. (sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc)twice (10sts)
round 9 – 13. sc in each st around (10 sts)
round 14 – 21. sc in next 3 sts, sc2tog, sc in next 4sts, 2 sc in last st (10 sts) – This will create the curl or bend in the end of the tail… if you want more curl you can repeat his for as many rows as you see fit.
round 22 – ??. sc each sc around until desired length.

Once I got my desired lenth, I figured out how the tail should lay, and choosing the middle stitch on the side of the tail, I sc until I reached that
point and began chaining to creat a belt. This will be entirely variant on who the belt is for (size-wise).

I ch 61, sc in 2nd ch from hook, and sc across ch back to tail. Start sc around the tail in the next open sc for 5 sc. Repeat ch directions from other
side.

sc around to other tie, finish off and stitch shut.

